The Musician

He was different.

He brought the kind of music that made my heart dance in the silence,

composed the kind of lyrics that made me believe,

hummed the kind of lullaby that lured my doubts to sleep,

gave a performance that brought a whirlwind of emotions,

like a virtuoso,

he played me well,

he pulled my strings,

a euphony so well

that I thought I was his grand finale,

but I was just another piece he played.

PS: I wrote this in one of my classes during freshman year when my professor surprisingly gave us ten minutes to write about anything that comes to mind. I thought I’d just write something that ended up like this.

15 thoughts on “The Musician

  1. That poem was just wow! If you wrote that in ten minutes then I can’t imagine leaving you alone for a couple of hours! šŸ˜€
    But I loved it and I look forward to reading more! Take care. Hugs! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Each one of my exes is a lullaby that occasionally nags at me. I have a whole section on my blog where I dedicate a love poem, and since love isn’t always sweet and kind… neither are the poems. Love the poem. Great imagery and I very much can relate. I am looking forward to exploring more of your writing. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like your poem very much and the metaphor you used. And then I just had to laugh at that song! He’s got a handle on being played.
    I’m glad the student you speak of has you on her side. Some people just like to bash – it’s their thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wordsarefullofletters says:

      Thanks! I started blogging in wordpress because it was a requirement in one of my college subjects. We were allowed to write about anything but we had to answer these questions our professor gave us. So I put the answers at the bottom of my blog. I continued writing even after I was through with the requirement. So you can see on my earlier blogs that there are random questions at the bottom, some even answered in our own native language(Filipino).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

